Optimized Title or Not?
The next step was to check if their Titles were properly optimized or not.
To do that, we analyzed one of the biggest keywords from the industry: “Dresses for Girls” which had 550k searches/month.
For the keyword in question, Firstrcy was in 9th position and Hopscotch secured 4th.
Let’s dig into their Titles:
The Title of FirstCry seemed to target 2 different keywords, which is not good considering how important & competitive the keyword is.
They were trying to rank dresses and frocks from a single page.
Also, it is always advised to keep the Title under 60 characters, anything over that gets cut out in the search results.
This was one of the reasons they were ranked so low for the keyword, although due to their domain authority, they still managed to be on the first page, but not for long.
One of the reasons Hopscotch was able to secure 4th position was its crisp to-the-point Title which was only targeting Dresses for Girls and was under 60 characters.
The only thing I would change in this title will be to move Stylish at the end, so the Title will look something like this:
Dresses For Girls Online | Stylish Dresses at Best Prices
Also, in the images above you saw the difference in the Meta descriptions of both websites. FirstCry’s description looked very cluttered and too big (282 characters), on the other hand, Hopscotch managed to keep it very precise.
All these little things can make a lot of impact on the ranking and thus sales.
Let’s do a simple calculation, by just improving the titles and description, ranking jumps from 9th to 3rd position for a keyword that gets 550k searches/month.
We can get traffic of 550k*20% (average ctr of 3rd position) = 1,10,000 users/month.
And considering the conversion rates of these pages to be around 8%, we can get 1,10,000*8% = 8,800 more sales per month.
Considering the average order value to be around Rs 1200.
Increased Revenue per month will be Rs 1200 * 8800 = 1.05 Cr
This is just the maths for one page, imagine optimizing all the pages of the website.
FirstCry managed to get a whopping 32.5M backlinks with its rigorous effort of promoting the Brand and getting links from reputed websites.
Backlinks tells Google that a website is trustworthy and helps it gain authority in Google’s search result.
Apparently, the more the number of backlinks one page has, it has the higher chance of ranking on top of the search results for different keywords.
In comparison to FirstCry, Hopscotch could only manage to get 42.5k backlinks, which is one of their weakest links so far with regard to their SEO effort.
By gaining a substantial amount of Backlinks on their key pages, they can get better ranking and once the authority of a website builds, it starts to rank for other keywords pretty easily which we see in the case of FirstCry.
One of the highlights in the case of challenges for Hopscotch was its dynamic url case.
As we went into our research mode, we found out that the url’s of Hopscotch kept on changing on regular basis which is not good in terms of indexing and Google might see it as a fraud activity.
This dynamic url challenge cost Hopscotch a huge loss in ranking as the crawlers cannot decide which url to rank as it changes after every few days.
Hopscotch’s Navigation seemed to be its weakest forte. We figured out a lot of loopholes with just a little digging.
The menu could have been niched down allowing users to see at least the popular categories for both genders for saving their time and improving user experience.
Reducing the friction even by 1 sec can have a significant impact on sales.
Even when we select the age group, the landing page looked very cluttered.
The simple fix could have been giving the user clear navigation at the top allowing them to go to the popular categories with just a click.
Once you have set the filters under the discover option, there was no way to go back to the homepage.
Unless you change the filter again. Which is quite surprising and a frustrating experience for the user.
The solution for this is simple, whenever a user clicks on the logo they should be redirected to the homepage.
Firstcry did a pretty good job with the navigation. They had all the important categories at the top and upon hovering it turned into a mega menu showing everything under that category allowing users to select desired product category easily.
Parenting advice for brand visibility
Firstcry has made a dedicated subdomain to address the issues of first-time parents and the pain points they might face in the journey.
Here they talk about varied topics ranging from pregnancy to common baby health issues.
This is a great strategy to show that they care about their audience and connect with them on a personal level.
Hopscotch tries to attract parents by sharing ideas to sharpen their kid’s minds from an early age.